Full-time Faculty

 
   Sean Ahearn
Professor and Director, Center for Advanced Research of Spatial Information (CARSI)
  Email: sahearn@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-5327
Office: 1026 HN
  Interests: Agent-based models, space-time analysis, digital image analysis, ecological modeling, emergency response, urban geographic systems
     
  Jochen Albrecht
Professor and GIS Certificate Advisor
  Email: jochen@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-5221
Office: 1030 HN
  Interests: Dynamic or process GIS, spatio-temporal analysis, landscape ecology, crime and health applications
     
  Frank Buonaiuto
Associate Professor
  Email: fbuonaiu@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-650-3092
Office: 1049 HN
  Interests: Oceanography, coastal processes, numerical modeling of waves, tides and sediment transport
     
  Allan Frei
Chair, Professor and Deputy Director, CUNY Institute for Sustainable Cities
  Email: afrei@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-5322
Office: 1005 HN
  Interests: Climate change, snow and water resources, modeling
     
  Hongmian Gong
Professor and Graduate Geography Advisor
  Email: gong@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-4658
Office: 1050 HN
  Interests: Urban geography, GIS, transportation, China
     
  Mohamed Ibrahim
Associate Professor
  Email: mibrahim@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-5267
Office: 1048 HN
  Interests: Environmental studies, resource management, sustainable and international development, water supply, sanitation and hygiene education, Africa, cultural climatology, urban geography
     
  Peter Marcotullio
Professor and Director, CUNY Institute for Sustainable Cities
  Email: peter.marcotullio@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-5264
Office: 1003E HN
 

Interests: Development and urban environmental change with a regional focus on East and South-east Asia, urbanization and the environment and urban and regional environmental planning

     
  Ines Miyares
Professor and MA TEP Earth Science Adolescence Education Advisor
  Email: imiyares@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-5443
Office: 1045 HN
  Interests: Geographies of immigration and ethnicity, geographies of Latinos in the U.S., ethnic identity political ecologies of Hawaii, diversifying geography/geosciences
     
  Wenge Ni-Meister
Professor
  Email: Wenge.Ni-Meister@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-5321
Office: 1029 HN
  Interests: Remote sensing, land-atmosphere interaction, meteorology, climatology, biogeography
     
  Marianna Pavlovskaya
Professor
  Email: mpavlov@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-5320
Office: 1003F HN
  Interests: Urban geography, post-socialist Russia, gender and class, feminist geography, geographic information science (GIS), social implications of GIS
     
  Randye Rutberg
Assistant Professor
  Email: randye.rutberg@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-5326
Office:1041 HN
  Interests: Paleoclimatology, oceanography, geochemistry, environmental science, environmental public policy
     
  Haydee Salmun
Associate Professor and Undergraduate Environmental Studies Advisor
  Email: hsalmun@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-5224
Office: 1035 HN
  Interests: Oceanography, global climate, environmental fluid dynamics, land surface-atmosphere-ocean interface
     
  William Solecki
Professor and Founder Director, Emeritus, CUNY Institute for Sustainable Cities
  Email: wsolecki@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-4536
Office: 1003D HN
  Interests: Urban environmental change, resilience, and adaptation transitions
     
  Karl Szekielda
Adjunct Professor
  Email: kszekiel@hunter.cuny.edu
Phone: 212-772-5323
Office: 1039 HN
  Interests: Remote sensing, oceanography, harmful algae blooms