In the News


2024 Anastasia Van Burkalow Award Winner

The Hunter College Department of Geography and Environmental Science is very proud to announce that the 2024 winner of the Anastasia Van Burkalow Award for Distinguished Service goes to Andrew J. Polsky, Ruth and Harold Newman Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences.

Dean Polsky has been a member of the Hunter College faculty since 1984 and has served as Dean since 2013. He is the author of The Rise of the Therapeutic State (Princeton University Press, 1991) and Elusive Victories: The American Presidency at War (Oxford University Press, 2012), as well as numerous scholarly articles, and editor of The Eisenhower Presidency: Lessons for the Twenty-First Century (Lexington Books, 2015).

From 2005 to 2010, he edited the political science journal Polity. Elusive Victories was a main selection of the History Book Club and the Military Book Club; his article, "Partisan Regimes in American Politics," won the 2013 Polity best article prize. He has served twice as chair of Hunter's Department of Political Science. At Hunter and the CUNY Graduate Center, he has taught courses at every level, including the introductory American government course to more than 6,000 Hunter students. Dean Polsky earned his PhD in Politics from Princeton University.